United Nations Industrial Development Organization

United Nations Industrial Development Organization

United Nations Industrial Development Organization (UNIDO), established on the 8th of April 1979, is a UN Organization primarily associated with Sustainable Development Goal 9, Industry, Innovation and Infrastructure, and is dedicated to promote and accelerate inclusive and sustainable industrial development in the Member States. The Organization has four focal points which are creating shared prosperity, advancing economic competitiveness, safeguarding the environment, and strengthening knowledge and institutions. As of April 2019, 170 States are members of UNIDO.

In Africa, UNIDO has a total of 24 offices, located in Morocco, Algeria, Tunisia, Egypt, Sudan, Ethiopia, Kenya, Tanzania, Mozambique, South Africa, DRC, Rwanda, Uganda, Cameroon, Nigeria, Ghana, Ivory Coast, Sierra Leone, Guinea, Senegal, Burkina Faso, and Mali. Africa. The region has a vigorous amount of natural resources since it holds the largest reserves of cobalt, diamonds, platinum and uranium in the world. Yet, the region lacks the industrial institutes that can process the raw materials and be involved in the global trade economy. To support resilient industrial growth and reduce poverty rates, UNIDO designed a program in Africa that promotes industrial development and aids nations in bolstering national economies and increasing industrial strength. Additionally, UNIDO aims to assist Member States develop international industrial partnerships to promote socially equitable, environmentally friendly, and technologically optimized industrial production.

Agenda 1

Building industrial resilience in post-conflict Libya

Agenda 2

Accelerating the digitalization of small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs)

Agenda 3

Ensuring sustainable mining practices and development in Central Africa