United Nations Security Council

 United Nations Security Council

The United Nations Security Council (UNSC) is one of the most influential international bodies to exist as it is the only binding organ of the United Nations. The UNSC consists of fifteen members in total, five of which are permanent members: the United States of America, United Kingdom, France, the People’s Republic of China and the Russian Federation. The ten remaining non-permanent members each serve two-year terms in the council. Once their term comes to an end elections are held in the United Nations general assembly to determine the newest members of the UNSC. Permanent five members, commonly referred to as the P5, possess the veto power which grants them the right to strike out any clause that goes against their policy. Unlike other committees of the United Nations, the UNSC follows an ad-hoc debate structure allowing them to debate clauses instead of resolutions as a whole. 

UNSC plays a crucial role in Africa due to the region’s high volatility and instability. Many countries are involved with armed conflict and other forms of violence which cause the deaths of millions and hurts the lives of even more: the UNSC aims to deescalate tensions and free countries from the most threatening conflicts. In Africa, due to the chaotic environment, the legally binding decisions made by the Security Council are a key element in terms of taking action. The Council’s ability to address and act promises a better action plan for the future of Africa, in terms of terminating conflicts and establishing a secure environment among the continent.

Agenda 1

The situation in Ethiopia

Agenda 2

The situation in Libya

Agenda 3

The situation in Sudan